Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Support Bus Station fight
22-Aug-2013, 12:28 PM
Support Bus Station fight
If you want to support the fight to retain Preston Bus station you can buy a T shirt to show your support.

http://www.ribabookshops.com/item/presto...e-l/81011/
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
22-Aug-2013, 09:00 PM
RE: Support Bus Station fight
Is there a website for the Bus Station campaign?

Martin ~
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
22-Aug-2013, 09:30 PM
I'm not sure, don't think so.
23-Aug-2013, 03:50 AM
For goodness' sake get the bloody thing demolished. With the concrete cancer it has, it will fall down of its own weight in about 10 years. Time to move on and replace it with something less grandiose and more functional.

As a former transit driver, I cringe at the idea of a one-person crew bus EVER backing up. My agency absolutely forbade the manouver, except in the most dire situations and then only with careful coordination with dispatch. In 30 months driving, I only had to back up once, when a concrete truck delivering to a new house site blocked the road and would have delayed me by 20 minutes. I had to get two of my passengers to stand guard while I backed up. I only had three, so it was fortunate my load factor was high enough!

The bus station we operated from had platforms that allowed the bus to approach at about a 30-degree angle to where the passengers would board and stop with enough room to exit forwards. We had a platform set-up with 12 stations for coaches (6 on each side) and scheduling allowed for buses coming in and departing at relatively short on-platform times. It takes a bit of organisation, but it's definitely feasible.