Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
4U 9525
27-Mar-2015, 08:49 AM (This post was last modified: 27-Mar-2015 08:51 AM by noel.)
4U 9525
Words fail really that a pilotl can be locked out of his cabin by his co-pilot. And for his employers to admit he should not have been employed. And then to read that technology exists to control planes from the ground, but companies won't adopt it. I'm no aviation expert, just a concerned passenger. I hope something's done to correct these shortcomings before September http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-32072218
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
27-Mar-2015, 06:02 PM
RE: 4U 9525
The immediate fix is to always have two people on the flight deck. If a pilot needs to go potty, the top cabin attendant goes up front. It's a requirement in the US. The airlines could add a third pilot, but that would make fares more expensive than ever.

The secure flight deck door was a knee-jerk reaction to hijackers getting in. I'm surprised it took this long for people to realise that nobody can get in if those on the flight deck don't want them to.

Frank
29-Mar-2015, 08:01 PM
Couldn't agree more Frank. It also surprises me a serious mental illness isn't notified directly to the pilot's airline. It's akin to the 3 London schoolgirls given letters by the police warning their parents they were being radicalised and in danger of joining ISlS in Syria. But far more serious I should add. T
he European air safety body has now stipulated 2 people must be in the cabin at all times.
29-Mar-2015, 11:00 PM
Noel:

I don't know how the rules work in Germany for private doctors to notify employers of medical issues affecting their employees. I'm sure it would violate US civil medical confidentiality rules. US commercial pilots get regular medical screenings by either the airline's own medical staff or by FAA-certified doctors who do report their findings to the FAA.